share. The Brookshire's Blog

Product Talk: Gluten-free Rice Krispies


The simple Rice Krispie Treat is one of the joys of childhood, not to mention one of the staples of the elementary school bake sale. But for some kids, and adults, the traditional confection is off-limits. That’s because the traditional Rice Krispies formulation contains gluten, making the cereal a no-go for people who have celiac disease or certain food allergies or sensitivities.

The new Gluten-Free Rice Krispies cereal changes that.  Like many foods, the gluten in original Rice Krispies is kind of hidden. Regular rice also does not contain gluten in and of itself. But the original formulation of the cereal contains malt flavoring, which does.

This new version is made with brown rice instead of white. But more importantly, it does not contain that malt flavoring.

The gluten-free version also contains slightly less sugar than the original, less than one gram per one-cup serving. But otherwise, they look and taste very similar to the classic version.

And, yes, most importantly – they produce that trademark Snap! Crackle! Pop! as soon as you pour on the milk.

You can substitute this gluten-free cereal in your favorite recipes. This fun-to-make (and gluten-free) treat is a good change of pace from regular Rice Krispie treats. Check the label on the caramels you choose to make sure they are gluten free. Kraft is one variety that is gluten free.

 

| Permalink | Print
Posted in: Product Talk

Product Talk

Each Monday we feature a new or interesting product.

Healthy Living

Tips on maintaining a healthy lifestyle, every Tuesday.

Shop the Sale

On Wednesdays, get a tip or idea on using an item in the circular.

Family Matters

Ideas for the whole family come to you every Thursday.

Dine In

Stop fighting the crowds, save money and dine in, every Friday.

Mi Blog Hispano

De Todo un Poco
Subscribe via RSS