The tricky part of being on a gluten-free diet is the foods that you would never expect to have gluten. By now you probably know to stay away for wheat bread, breaded vegetables and meat, and anything that has wheat in the ingredients list.
The simple part is to look at the ingredients list, see wheat, rye, or barley, put the product back and move on. There are a few items you would not immediately know to avoid. For example, caramel coloring is sometimes made from barley, therefore, that is a new ingredient for you to search for on the ingredients list. Also, imitation bacon, nondairy creamer, and seasoning mixes also may contain gluten. Always be careful when looking at the ingredients list. Like I always say when in doubt call the manufacturer!